University of Leicester |

Home >> News and Events >> [eBulletin] >> People


Staff distinctions, November 2002
(As reported to Senate)

Professor Richard Aldridge (Geology) has been elected as the new president of the International Palaeontological Association. He has also been appointed as Guest Professor at the China University of Geosciences in Wuhan.

Professor John Benyon (Institute of Lifelong Learning) has been elected an Academician of the Academy of Learned Societies for the Social Sciences.

Professor Len Dissado (Engineering) delivered the Whitehead Lecture at the IEEE Conference on Electrical Insulation and Dielectric Phenomena at Cancun, Mexico in October 2002. This lecture is awarded annually by the IEEE to a person who has made a substantial contribution to the conference topic. Professor Dissado also delivered the E O Forster Memorial Lecture at Eindhoven in June 2001. This honour is awarded triennially to ‘honour a scientist for his outstanding contribution to the field of dielectrics’. 

Dr Paula Dobrowolski (Educational Development and Support Centre) has been elected to the Board of Trustees of the Disabilities Trust.

Mr George Ferzoco (School of Modern Languages) has been made a Cavaliere di Celestino (Knight of Celestine) at a conference at the Centre for Celestine Studies, L’Aquila, Italy, in recognition of his research on Pope Celestine V. He was also invited to speak on his Celestine research to the Georgian Academy of Science’s annual meeting in Tbilisi.

Professor Lin Foxhall (School of Archaeology and Ancient History) has been invited to join the Leverhulme Research Awards Advisory Committee. She has also been appointed Chairman of the British School of Athens.

Professor Aidan Halligan (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) has been appointed by the Government as Deputy Chief Medical Officer. 

Dr Ian Harris (History)
has been awarded the Chandis Security Fellowship and the Caird Fellowship.

Professor Eilean Hooper-Greenhill (Museum Studies) has been named by The Independent on Sunday as one of the ten leading people in the Museum Sector in the UK, as chosen by peers.

Dr Dina Iordanova (History of Art) has been appointed to serve on the Teaching Committee of the Society of Cinema Studies, an organisation of film scholars from around the world. She was also one of the 100 world critics selected to identify their ten best films in a September 2002 Sight and Sound critics’ poll for the decade 1990-2000.

Professor Steffen Koenig (Mathematics and Computer Science) has been appointed Editorial Adviser of the London Mathematical Society, and will therefore serve on the Editorial Boards of the Bulletin, the Journal and the Proceedings of the London Mathematical Society, which are among the world’s most prestigious periodicals in Mathematics. He is also the co-ordinator of an EU-funded international network entitled Algebras and Representations in China and Europe, which involves five European Universities (in Belgium, Germany and the UK) and four Chinese elite institutions (Academy of Science, Beijing Normal University, Tsinghua University and Chinese University of Science and Technology, Hefei).

Professor Bambos Kyriacou (Genetics)
has won a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award. 

Dr John Malpass (Chemistry) has been awarded a DSc by the University of Birmingham for his research into Synthesis, Shape and Reactivity of Azacyclic Systems.

Professor Martin Stannard (English) has been elected a Fellow of the English Association.

Student Distinctions

Mr Tim Werry and Mr Drew Burdon (PhD Cell Physiology and Pharmacology) have been awarded Royal Society Travelling Fellowships to undertake post-doctoral research in Australia.

Mr Andrew Iceton (MBChB 4) has won a prize in rheumatology from the national charity Arthritis Research Campaign for an essay on osteoporosis. 

December 2002

Back to People
Back to [eBulletin] index

[University Home][University Index A-Z][University Search][University Help]

Last updated: 17 December 2002 17:00
Created by: Rachel Tunstall
Maintained by: Barbara Whiteman

This document has been approved by the head of department or section.
If you are an authorised user you may edit this document through your Web browser.