News and events archive 2004 - 2013


Professor Herschel Prins Awarded an Honorary Professorship

In July 2008 Professor Herschel Prins was awarded an Honorary Professorship for his significant contribution to the Department over a number of years.

Professor Herschel Prins has been closely associated with the development of forensic mental health for more than 50 years. Over his varied career his concern for our understanding and management of mentally disordered offenders has remained a constant.

Professor Prins began his career as a probation officer back in 1952 which led to his interest in the treatment of mentally disordered offenders and his decision to qualify as a psychiatric social worker. He has since worked in the Home Office, has been a Visiting Professor at the University of Leicester and Nottingham Trent University. He holds a Chair at Loughborough University and Honorary Chairs at the University of Leicester and the University of Birmingham. He was director of the School of Social Work here at Leicester from 1981 to 1984.

His service to the profession includes membership of the Parole Board, the Mental Health Review Tribunal and the Mental Health Act Commission. He has chaired three Committees of Inquiry into the care and management of offender patients. He has over 200 published works with the most recent being the third edition of Offenders, Deviants or Patients in 2005. He is currently working on a fourth edition.

Professor Prins has taught on our MSc Clinical Criminology programme since it began over ten years ago and still teaches the Current Issues in Clinical Criminology module. The Department are delighted to be able to honour Professor Prins’ hard work and dedication to criminological research and teaching by awarding him the title of Honorary Professor.

This article originally appeared in the Winter 2009 edition of Criminology in Focus, which you can read online by clicking here .

[University Home]. [eBulletin]. [University Index A-Z]. [University Search]. [University Help]
Managed by Press Office
[Copyright] and [Disclaimer]