News and events archive 2004 - 2013


University recognises teaching talent

The 2009 University Teaching Fellowships

The University of Leicester celebrated the achievements and success of its academic staff during the week of the degree ceremonies, in front of hundreds of graduates and their families.

Six members of staff have been awarded University Teaching Fellowships in recognition of their outstanding and inspiring contributions to teaching and curriculum innovation and development.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Robert Burgess said: “The University of Leicester is a leading international research and teaching University. Our reputation for teaching excellence stems from the quality of our academic staff and the support systems that are in place for our students. At a time when people from around the world gathered at the University of Leicester to celebrate the achievements of their families, we think it is also appropriate to recognise the teaching initiatives developed by staff that contribute to students’ success.

“All our Teaching Fellows have achieved great distinction in their respective fields and this recognition reflects the importance this University attaches to teaching and learning. Leicester is among the top universities in the country for student satisfaction and the efforts made by our teaching fellows and other staff contribute greatly to this success”

Members of staff to gain University Teaching Fellowships are:

In recognition of her remarkable and internationally-recognised contribution to developing innovative approaches to the teaching of child psychiatry and human diversity: Dr Nisha Dogra, Department of Health Sciences.

In recognition of his considerable success in the areas of active citizenship and education for sustainable development and for his innovative teaching practice: Dr Paul Warwick, School of Education.

In recognition of his sustained commitment to innovation in the teaching of literature: Dr Mark Rawlinson, School of English.

In recognition of his sustained excellence in teaching and his success in encouraging and supporting good practice within the Chemistry Department: Dr Dai Davies, Department of Chemistry.

In recognition of her achievement in supporting and developing excellence and innovative approaches to teaching and learning in Geography: Dr Clare Jarvis, Department of Geography

In recognition of his inspiring and imaginative teaching and his involvement in national initiatives which promote student learning in Geology: Dr Gawen Jenkin, Department of Geology.

[University Home]. [eBulletin]. [University Index A-Z]. [University Search]. [University Help]
Managed by Press Office
[Copyright] and [Disclaimer]