University of Leicester eBulletin

Museum Studies Expert Among Top 10 in UK

October 2002
No 239

A University of Leicester academic has received a top national accolade.

Professor Eilean Hooper-Greenhill, former Head of the Department of Museum Studies, has been listed among the ten leading people in the museum sector by The Independent on Sunday recently.  

Those to reach this 'top ten' in the museum world were chosen by their peers.

She appears among such names as Sir Nicholas Serota, head of Tate Modern, Tate Britain, Tate St Ives and Tate Liverpool, and Neil MacGregor, Director of the British Museum and an Honorary Graduate of the University of Leicester, and Diane Lees former Director of the Galleries of Justice, Nottingham.

Professor Hooper-Greenhill is the former Head of the Department of Museum Studies and Director of the Research Centre for Museums and Galleries (RCMG), described by the Independent on Sunday as carrying out research that is 'internationally influential'.

Professor Hooper-Greenhill commented:  I was delighted to be named as one of the top ten in museums and even more pleased that this was a selection made by fellow museum professionals. This is enormously heartening at a personal level, and very gratifying for the Department of Museum Studies at the University of Leicester.

The Department of Museum Studies was established in 1966 to provide training in the museum sector. Since that time it has grown to become the world's largest and most noted supplier of learning and research in the field of museum studies. It is home to the Research Centre for Museums and Galleries, which undertakes research on behalf of museums and other cultural organisations.

NOTE TO EDITORS:   Further information is available from Professor Eilean Hooper-Greenhill, Director of the Research Centre for Museums and Galleries (RCMG), at the University of Leicester Department of Museum Studies and telephone 0116 252 3966, facsimile 0116 252 3960, email

[University Home] [Press and Publications] [University Index A-Z][University Search][University Help]
Information supplied by: Barbara Whiteman
Last updated: October 2002
University Administration Web Maintainer

This document has been approved by the head of department or section.