[Press & Publications] The University's First Degree Congregations of the New Millennium

January 2000

No 13

The University of Leicester's first degree congregation of the new Millennium will honour a man who joined the University half a century ago.

Professor Brian Simon will be awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Letters at the University's postgraduate degree congregation on February 3.

Also being honoured at the De Montfort Hall is Mario Illien who will receive an honorary degree of Doctor of Science.

Professor Brian Simon is Emeritus Professor of the University of Leicester. He said: "I joined the University 50 years ago and spent 30 very happy years here teaching, researching and writing. It is a great honour to be awarded an honorary degree - Leicester is a great University and has much to be proud of."

Professor Simon was a member of the School of Education from 1956-1980 and has an international reputation as an historian and educationalist. Particularly interested in the practice of teaching in primary schools in postwar Britain, he championed the cause of education for all, observing the limitations of IQ testing and the streaming of children according to ability in schools.

Mr Mario Illien is Technical Director of Ilmor Engineering, a company in Northampton which builds racing car engines. He is an outstanding engineer and is world-renowned for his engine designs. He designed the engine for the winners of the 1998 and 1999 Formula 1 World Championships.

A total of 870 postgraduate degrees will be conferred at the degree congregation. The first graduands from the MA in Archaeology and Heritage by distance learning will graduate at this ceremony.

  • The University of Leicester is holding a Postgraduate Fair on February 14 to highlight the opportunities available for self-advancement through professional qualifications. The University of Leicester is the third largest provider of taught postgraduate education in the UK and hosts 10 specialist postgraduate research centres. There is a wide breadth of opportunities with 120 degree courses and a wide range of research options.
  • NOTE TO NEWSDESKS: The degree ceremony takes place at 2.30pm on February 3 at De Montfort Hall, Leicester.

    [Leicester University] [*] Administration [*] Press & Publications
    Information supplied by: Barbara Whiteman
    Last updated: 03 February 2000 15:05
    University Administration Web Maintainer

    This document has been approved by the head of department or section.
    If you are an authorised user you may edit this document through your Web browser.