University of Leicester |

Home >> News and Events >> [eBulletin] >> People


University staff recipients of Royal Society of Chemistry awards

The RSC’s Council was recently pleased to announce the second year in the fourth cycle of awards made possible by the generous assistance of a number of industrial companies and other organisations:

Sponsored by Whatman plc

Awarded for the development of new analytical methods using bioanalytical techniques.

Awarded to:

Professor P B Farmer CChem FRSC
University of Leicester

‘Distinguished for his contributions to the development and measurement of biomarkers for recording human exposure to environmental carcinogens and related molecules’

Peter Farmer obtained a DPhil in chemistry from Oxford University in 1970.  Much of his early research career was spent at the MRC Toxicology Unit in Carshalton and later in Leicester. He is now joint Director of the MRC Cancer Biomarkers and Prevention Group and Honorary Professor in Biochemistry and Chemistry at (Leicester University) the University of Leicester. His research interests are the use of chemical approaches to study mutagenic and carcinogenic effects of chemicals and the development of biomarkers for the detection of stages of carcinogenesis in humans. This involves the development of highly sensitive analytical techniques for the identification of adducts of carcinogens with DNA and proteins, and subsequently their quantification, using LC- or GC-MS(-MS).

Industrially-sponsored Awards

These awards are available to persons of British nationality, Commonwealth citizens or those normally residents in the British Isles and are not restricted to members of the Royal Society of Chemistry. Each award consists of a silver medal and a prize of £500.

For every award, equal consideration is given to those candidates who have made a fundamental contribution to their subject and whose work has been directed to its application.  Every account is taken of significant contributions in applied science not reflected in publications. The subject areas are interpreted in the broadest manner so as to ensure that no worthy candidate is excluded.  Applications are also welcomed from those who have made notable contributions to chemistry whilst working in sciences bordering on chemistry. It is Council’s intention to make the awards to persons in mid-career. 

Sponsored by Lilly Research Centre Limited

Awarded for studies on the structure or mode of action of enzyme systems.

Awarded to:

Professor N S Scrutton CChem FRSC
University of Leicester

‘Distinguished for his contributions to the understanding of enzyme catalysis and in particular providing experimental support for his ideas on hydrogen tunnelling and protein dynamics as a key aspect of catalysis in hydrogen transfer reactions in flavoenzymes’

Nigel Scrutton graduated from King’s College, London in 1985 and was awarded the Sir William Robson prize. He obtained his PhD at Cambridge as a Benefactors’ Scholar. In 1988 he was elected Research Fellow at St John’s College and was awarded the Humphreys Research Prize. At Cambridge he was a Research Fellow of the Royal Commission for the Exhibition 1851 and Royal Society University Research Fellow. He is now a Professor at the University of Leicester and Lister Institute Research Professor. He is a recipient of the Colworth Medal of the Biochemical Society. His scientific interests include mechanistic, structural and quantum enzymology, with particular interest in electron and hydrogen transfer reactions in flavoproteins and quinoproteins. 


This award for outstanding non-academic service to the RSC is intended to recognise exceptional service in any capacity, other than the office of President.

Awarded to:

Professor John Henry Holloway OBE CChem FRSC
University of Leicester

John Holloway is a Pro-Vice-Chancellor at the University of Leicester and has served the RSC at both a national and local level. He has served as an active member of several RSC committees concerned with qualifications, recruitment, finance, parliament and local affairs. He has also been a member of Council and has chaired the Professional Affairs and Membership Board. He has also held offices in his local section as secretary, treasurer and meetings secretary. His contributions to chemistry include public outreach demonstration lectures throughout which, over 30 years, he has helped to promote the RSC and chemistry to school pupils and lay audiences.

IN LONDON FOR CEREMONY: University of Leicester award winners, pictured with their wives

Back to People
Back to [eBulletin] index

[University Home][University Index A-Z][University Search][University Help]

Last updated: 24 July 2003 15:00
Maintained by: Barbara Whiteman

This document has been approved by the head of department or section.
If you are an authorised user you may edit this document through your Web browser.