University of Leicester |

Home >> News and Events >> [eBulletin] >> People


Staff distinctions, October 2002
(As reported to Senate)

Academic Staff Distinctions:

Dr Jim Broderick (Scarman Centre) has been serving since January 2002 as a Specialist Adviser to the House of Commons Select Committee on Defence, advising the Committee during its inquiry into the defence and security of the UK following the terrorist attacks of 11 September 2001.

Professor Terry Brugha (Psychiatry)
has been elected Secretary General of the International Federation of Psychiatric Epidemiology.

Professor David Evans (Medical Physics)
has been elected President of the European Federation of Societies for Ultrasound in Medicine and Biology.

Dr Richard Evans (Cell Physiology and Pharmacology) has been awarded the British Pharmacological Society Novartis Prize for 2002 (the prize is awarded annually on the basis of published research work and is one of the major awards offered by the Society). He is also a Frank May Prize Lecturer this year in the Faculty of Medicine and Biological Sciences.

Dr Robert Fern (Cell Physiology and Pharmacology)
has been appointed to the US Government’s National Institutes of Health (NIH) study section. The committee grades NIH grant awards and is the major source of medical research funding in the US (and the world).

Professor Peter Furness (Pathology)
has been elected to the Council of the Royal College of Pathologists.

Professor Peter Jackson (Management Centre) has been appointed as an International Assessor for the Grant Agency of the Czech Republic.

Dr David Lambert (Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Management)
has been awarded (as a non-anaesthetist) the Humphrey Davy Medal for services to Anaesthesia. 

Mr Tony Lawson (School of Education) has been re-elected as National President of the Association for the Teaching of the Social Sciences for a further three years.

Professor Jean McHale (Law) has been invited to sit on the Interim Advisory Group (Ethics and Governance) for the UK Biobank Project, which is a major project funded jointly by the Department of Health, the Wellcome Trust and the Medical Research Council to create a genetic database of 500,000 people, operational over 20 years).

Professor Dieter Schott (Economic and Social History) has been appointed to the Council of the International Planning History Society.

Dr Sarah Scott and Dr Marijke van der Veen (School of Archaeology and Ancient History) have been elected Fellows of the Society of Antiquaries of London.

Professor Lorna Unwin (Centre for Labour Market Studies) has been invited to become an Honorary Member of the City and Guilds of the London Institute (a registered charity under Royal Charter) in recognition of her personal contribution to vocational education, training, and assessment.

Professor Panos Vostanis (Child and Adolescent Psychiatry) has been appointed a Non-Executive Director of the Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust for four years.

Dr Mike Warrington (Engineering) has been awarded (along with Mr Clive Jackson, a research student, and Mr B Lunborg, his co-author from Sweden), the Maxwell Premium of £500 by the Council of the Institution of Electrical Engineers for their paper ‘Directional diversity of HF signals received over a high latitude paths and possibility of improved data throughout by means of spatial filtering’.

October 2002

Back to People
Back to [eBulletin] index

[University Home][University Index A-Z][University Search][University Help]

Last updated: 18 October 2002 17:00
Created by: Rachel Tunstall
Maintained by: Barbara Whiteman

This document has been approved by the head of department or section.
If you are an authorised user you may edit this document through your Web browser.