University of Leicester |

Home >> News and Events >> [eBulletin] >> People


Staff and student distinctions, March 2003
(As reported to Senate)

Staff distinctions:

Dr Simon Bennett (Scarman Centre) has been elected a member of the Royal Aeronautical Society (MRAeS). The RAeS was founded in 1866 to promote research into all aspects of commercial and military aviation and aviation interests generally. 

Dr Huw Bowen (School of Historical Studies) has been awarded a Senior Caird Fellowship for the session 2003/04.

Dr Nigel Brunskill (Cell Physiology and Pharmacology), Professor Ian Eperon (Biochemistry), Ms Sarah Kenyon (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) and Professor Peter Williams (Microbiology and Immunology) have been invited to join the MRC Advisory Board.

Dr Elizabeth Clapp (School of Historical Studies) has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

Mr John Doidge (Director of Staff Development) has been elected to serve as Vice Chair of the Staff and Educational Development Association (SEDA) Professional Developments Award Committee. 

Dr Jonathan Grigg (Child Health) has been appointed as one of eight new members on the Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards

Dr Phillip Lindley (History of Art) has been elected Visiting Scholar at St Catharine’s College, Cambridge, for the period 1 August to 31 December 2003.

Professor Clive Ruggles (School of Archaeology and Ancient History) has been selected (from several hundred nominations) to participate in the 2003/04 Lecture Program of the Archaeological Institute of America. The AIA’s mission is to bring important developments in the field of archaeology to the general public and the award involves a series of lectures in a selected region of the United States and Canada. 

Professor Annabelle Sreberny (Centre for Mass Communications Research) has been awarded the Postgraduate Diploma in Psychodynamic Counselling by the University. 

University of Leicester Archaeological Services (ULAS) has been awarded ‘Investors in People’ status.

Student distinctions:

Mr Simon Key (PhD student, Engineering) has won First Prize at the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) East Midlands Young Members’ Papers Evening.

Back to People
Back to [eBulletin] index

[University Home][University Index A-Z][University Search][University Help]

Last updated: 21 March 2003 17:00
Maintained by: Barbara Whiteman

This document has been approved by the head of department or section.
If you are an authorised user you may edit this document through your Web browser.