University of Leicester |

Home >> News and Events >> [eBulletin] >> People


Staff distinctions
(As reported to Senate)

June 2002:

Academic Staff Distinctions:

Mr Simon Britton (Estates and Buildings) has been elected to serve as Vice-Chairman of the Association of University Directors of Estates.

Professor Gordon Campbell (English) has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate (Doctor Honoris Causa Universitatis Bucarestensis) by the University of Bucharest.

Professor Mike Clarke (Epidemiology and Public Health) has been elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professor Robin Fraser (General Practice and Primary Health Care) has become the first person to be made an Honorary Fellow of the Hong Kong College of Family Physicians (HKCFP) and has been invited to deliver the Dr Sun Yat Sen Oration. 

Mr Michael Gilmore (Academic Office) has been awarded the degree of PhD summa cum lauda by the Pontificia Universitas Gregoriana, Rome, for his thesis on ‘The subject-predicate Relation as understood similarly and diversely by St Thomas Aquinas and Peter Strawson’.

Professor W D Grant (Microbiology and Immunology) has been appointed to an EU delegation to visit China to discuss EU-China co-operation/collaboration in the Life Sciences.

Pauline Hardiker (Richard Attenborough Centre for Disability and the Arts, formerly of the School of Social Work)
has been awarded the Honorary Degree of DUniv by the Open University.

Mr Roy Kirk (University Library)
has been awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Library Association

Mr Dominic Malcolm (Centre for Research into Sport and Society, Sociology)
has been elected Convenor of the British Sociological Association’s Sociology of Sport Study Group.

Professor Nilesh Samani (Surgery)
has been elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professor Wilhelm Schwaeble (Microbiology and Immunology) has been elected Section Editor of the Journal of Immunology (one of few editors drawn from outside the USA).

Professor Malcolm Shaw (Law) has been appointed as a Queen’s Counsel and was sworn in on 10 April 2002.

Professor David Taylor (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) has been appointed to serve as a Non-Executive Director of the Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Rutland Strategic Health Authority.

Professor Richard Trembath (Division of Medical Genetics, Medicine) has been appointed to the MRC Advisory Board and elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professor Peter Williams and Dr Primrose Freestone (Microbiology and Immunology)
, together with colleagues in the City Hospital, Nottingham and the Minneapolis Medical Research Foundation in the USA, have been awarded the 10th Annual Joseph Sussman Memorial Award at the joint North American and European Societies for Surgical Infection meeting held recently in Madrid. (The award was for research into the colonization of catheters by Staphylococcus epidermidis and was made for the first time by a unanimous decision of the judges and for research by non-clinicians.) 

Professor Alison Yarrington (History of Art) has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

The AVS Video Production Unit (Jon Shears and Carl Vivien) has won five awards, including the Premier Award for the video ‘Understanding Domestic Abuse’, at the Annual Learning on Screen Production Awards.

The Unit has also been awarded two prizes by the Society for Screen-based Learning for the video made for Leicester’s HEFCE-funded 2001 Widening Participation Summer School (2nd place Highly Commended for Best Camera work and 1st Place in the Best Editing category).

Student Distinctions:

Mr James Bartram (MSc Marketing) has received a Student of the Year award from the Chartered Institute of Marketing.

July 2002:

Queen’s Birthday Honours:

Professor Peter Bell (Surgery) has been appointed a Knight Bachelor.

Dr Tom McKillop (Pro-Chancellor) has been appointed a Knight Bachelor.

Professor Jack Spence (formerly Professor of Politics and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University) has been appointed to the Order of the British Empire.

Academic staff distinctions:

Professor Dick Aldridge (Geology) has been invited to be President of the
International Palaeontological Association.

Professor Andrew Colman (Psychology) has been awarded a prize for his publication of A Dictionary of Psychology (Oxford University Press, 2001). The dictionary has been included in the list of outstanding reference sources issued by 
the American Library Association/Reference and User Services Association.

Professor Andrew King (Physics and Astronomy) has won a Royal Society Wolfson Merit Award.

Professor Marilyn Palmer (Archaeology and Ancient History) has been appointed Chairman of the Industrial Archaeology Advisory Panel of the National Trust. She has also been appointed to the judging panel for the Ian Allan Railway Heritage Awards.

Professor Ian Postlethwaite (Engineering) has won, for a paper he co-authored, the best paper prize (2002) for papers published in the IFAC Journal of Control Engineering Practice over the period 1999-2002.

Dr Emma Raven (Chemistry) has won an award from the Institute of Applied Catalysis for Innovation in Applied Catalysis.

Other distinctions:

The Sports and Recreation Service has been awarded Investors in People status.

July 2002

Back to People
Back to [eBulletin] index

[University Home][University Index A-Z][University Search][University Help]

Last updated: 8 July 2002 17:00
Created by: Rachel Tunstall
Maintained by: Barbara Whiteman

This document has been approved by the head of department or section.
If you are an authorised user you may edit this document through your Web browser.