University of Leicester |

Home >> News and Events >> [eBulletin] >> People


Staff and student distinctions, December 2003
(As reported to Senate)

Staff distinctions:

Dr Harold Fox (School of Historical Studies) has won the Devon Book of the Year Prize for his book entitled The Evolution of the Fishing Village: Landscape and Society along the South Devon Coast, 1086-1550.

Emeritus Professor Jan Grodecki
has been honoured by the University of Warsaw for his contribution to the founding and development of its Centre for English and European Legal Studies and for lecturing at the University for the last 12 years. (see report below)

Professor John Holloway
(Chemistry) has been elected to the Council of the British Association.

Professor Peter Jackson (Management Centre) has been invited to give the 2004 Hume Lecture, sponsored by the David Hume Institute.

Professor Mike Lovell (Geology) has been invited by NERC to serve as a member of the UK Integrated Ocean Drilling Program Steering Committee for a three-year period. The IODP is an international venture involving multiple drilling vessels based in the US, Japan and Europe and runs initially through to 2007/08. Professor Lovell is also serving as a ‘Distinguished Speaker’ for the International Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts based in Houston, Texas. 

Professor Audrey Osler (School of Education) has won the Times Educational Supplement/National Association Special Educational Needs Academic Book Award for 2003 for her book Girls and Exclusion: Rethinking the Agenda (co-author Kerry Vincent, former Research Fellow at the School).

Professor Graham Shipley (School of Archaeology and Ancient History) has been elected as the Chair of the Council of University Classical Departments for the period 2003 to 2006.

Professor Rick Thomas (School of Mathematics and Computer Science) has been chosen to serve as the next Chair of the Computer Science Committee of the London Mathematical Society. The Society was found in 1865 and was granted a Royal Charter in 1965, and is the major British learned society for Mathematics. 

Dr Martin Tobin (Department of Health Sciences) has been awarded the Roger W Williams Award by the International Genetic Epidemiology Society for the second consecutive year.

Professor Bryan Williams (Department of Cardiovascular Sciences) has been invited by the Department of Health to serve on the National Research Capacity Development Programme Steering Committee.

Professor Peter Williams (Microbiology and Immunology) has been appointed a member of the Health and Safety Executive’s new Genetically Modified Organisms (Contained Use) Technical Committee.

Student distinctions:

Eve Boakes (BSc Biological Sciences 3) has been awarded one of the Society for General Microbiology Undergraduate Prizes for 2003.

Mr Tim Wright (MBA) has won The Guardian Ashridge Prize for 2003 for an essay on Corporate Social Responsibility.

Back to People
Back to [eBulletin] index

[University Home][University Index A-Z][University Search][University Help]

Last updated: 15 March 2004 10:20
Maintained by: Barbara Whiteman

This document has been approved by the head of department or section.
If you are an authorised user you may edit this document through your Web browser.