Skip to main content


HTML supports 6 levels of headings (numbered, surprisingly, 1 to 6). A heading level is declared by using the following tags:

Should appear at the beginning of your heading.
Should appear at the end of your heading.

where number is the number of the required heading level.

Examples of Heading settings

Text marked as follows:

<h1>Heading level 1</h1>
<h2>Heading level 2</h2>
<h3>Heading level 3</h3>
<h4>Heading level 4</h4>
<h5>Heading level 5</h5>
<h6>Heading level 6</h6>

would appear in the following styles:

Heading level 1

Heading level 2

Heading level 3

Heading level 4

Heading level 5
Heading level 6

It is very important that you balance your text to the various heading styles. In most cases heading level 1 should be used for top level or main headings and heading level 2 and 3 for "side" headings.

Note: Heading level 4 is the same size as the default font and higher levels of headings begin to get smaller in comparison to the body text.