Banner Photo IAU IUHPS/DHST
IAU XXVIIth GA, Rio
C41/ICHA Science Meeting
Wednesday August 5, Sessions 3 & 4
Oral papers
14.00–14.30 Ethnoastronomy in Brazil Flavia Pedroza Lima (Fundação Planetário da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro, Instituto de Geociências – UNICAMP, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; flaviapedroza@gmail.com) & Silvia F. de M. Figueirôa (Instituto de Geociências – UNICAMP, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
14.30–15.00 Pioneering Astronomical Activities in the New World Oscar T. Matsuura (Rua Itacema, 199 apto. 43, São Paulo, Brazil; otmats@terra.com.br)
15.00–15.30 The Antikythera Mechanism: An Ancient Greek Astronomical Computer John H. Seiradakis (Department of Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece; jhs@astro.auth.gr)
15.30–16.00 Afternoon Tea
16.00–16.30 Alpha and Proxima Centauri: The Quest for the Nearest Star Ian Glass (South African Astronomical Observatory, South Africa; isg@saao.ac.za)
16.30–17.00 Seventy-five Years of Photoelectric Astrometry: From Experiments in 1925 to the Tycho–2 Catalogue Erik Høg (Niels Bohr Institute/Copenhagen University, Copenhagen, Denmark; erik.hoeg@get2net.dk)
17.00–17.30 The Investigation of the Earth’s Rotation From Ancient Occultation Records Mitsuru Sôma & Kiyotaka Tanaikawa (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, Tokyo, Japan; Mitsuru.Soma@nao.ac.jp; tanikawa@exodus.mtk.nao.ac.jp)
Poster papers
How the First Dwarf Planet Became the Asteroid Ceres Clifford Cunningham, Brian Marsden & Wayne Orchiston (Centre for Astronomy, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia; Clifford.Cunningham@jcu.edu.au; Brian. Marsden@jcu.edu.au; Wayne.Orchiston@jcu.edu.au)
Astronomical Aspects of Korean Dolmens Hong-Jin Yang (Korean Astronomy and Space Science Institute, Daejeon, Korea; hjyang@kasi.re.kr), Changbom Park (Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Seoul, Korea; cbp@kias.re.kr) and Myeong-Gu Park (Kyungpook National University, Daegu, Korea; mgp@knu.ac.kr)
The Legendary 4th Century AD Georgian Solar Eclipse: Fact or Fantasy? Jefferson Sauter, Irakli Simonia, Richard Stephenson & Wayne Orchiston (Centre for Astronomy, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia; Jefferson.Sauter@jcu. edu.au; Irakli.Simonia@jcu.edu.au; Richard.Stephenson@jcu.edu.au; Wayne. Orchiston@jcu.edu.au)
Forty Years of Solar Eclipse Science at the Lick Observatory and Paradigm Shifts in Solar Physics John Pearson, Wayne Orchiston & Kim Malville (Centre for Astronomy, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia, John.Pearson1@jcu.edu.au; Wayne.Orchiston @jcu.eu.au; kimmalville@hotmail.com)
The 7 August 1869 Total Solar Eclipse and the Popularisation of Astronomy in the USA Stella Cottam, Wayne Orchiston & Richard Stephenson (Centre for Astronomy, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia; Stella.Cottam@jcu.edu.au; Wayne. Orchiston@ jcu.edu.au; Richard.Stephenson@jcu.edu.au)
Detection of Unknown Objects in Tycho Brahe’s Astronomiae Instauratae Progymnasmata Tomoko Fujiwara (Center for Research and Advancement in Higher Education, Kyushu University, Japan; tomokof@rche.kyushu-u.ac.jp)
Proceedings of ICOA-7
The proceedings of the International Conference on Oriental Astronomy (ICOA–7) are available from Mitsuru Soma

IAU S278 Proceedings
are now available
Archaeoastronomy and Ethnoastronomy: Building Bridges between Cultures
(the 9th “Oxford” International Symposium on Archaeoastronomy)
Astronomy and World Heritage
IAU Working Group on Astronomy and World Heritage
The Commission’s Astronomy and World Heritage Working Group is working with UNESCO to advance their Astronomy and World Heritage Initiative

ICOMOS–IAU Thematic Study
The printed edition of the ICOMOS–IAU Thematic Study on the Heritage Sites of Astronomy and Archaeoastronomy is now available

SpS5 - IAU GA Rio
The proceedings of the Rio GA Special Session on “Accelerating the Rate of Astronomical Discovery” have been published in Proceedings of Science