News-Sheet 2003


Minutes of the AGM Held on Saturday 25 May 2002 at the University of Leeds

The President, Andrew Wawn, was in the chair.

The minutes of the last General Meeting were read and accepted.

The audited accounts for the year ending 30 September 2001 were circulated and accepted by the meeting.

The re-election of Katrina Attwood as Honorary Auditor was proposed by Ruth Ellison and seconded by John Kirby.

The election of officers of the Society was announced:

Election as President: John Hines

Re-election as Vice-Presidents in Council: Desmond Slay, Ray Page, Geoffrey Harlow, Peter Foote, Richard Perkins, John Townsend, Anthony Faulkes and Rory McTurk.

Election as Councillors: David Ashurst, Jon Grove, John Hines, Kathy Holman.

Re-election as Councillors: John Flood, John Hines, Carl Phelpstead, Judy Quinn, Jon Adams, Jayne Carroll, Richard North, David Reid.

The President, Andrew Wawn, gave his Presidential address on '(Re)visiting Vatnsdœla saga'.

Meetings 2002-2003

Autumn: Friday 8 November 2002, at University College London. Odd Einar Haugen University of Bergen): 'The Spirit of Lachmann, the Spirit of Bédier: Old Norse Textual Editing in the Digital Age'. Professor Haugen was the Guest of Honour at the Society's Annual Dinner the same evening.

Spring: Friday 21 February 2003, at University College London. Elizabeth Ashman Rowe: 'A Man and his Manuscript: Jón Hákonarson, Flateyjarbók, and the Norwegian Dynastic Crisis of 1389'.

Summer: Saturday 7 June 2003, Newnham College, Cambridge. Haki Antonsson (University of Cambridge): 'Archbishop Eysteinn of Nidaros (1161-1188): some reflections on his reign and writing'.

Student Conference: Saturday 15 February, Newnham College, Cambridge. Speakers on the topic of Vínland were: John Hines (Cardiff, 'L'Anse aux Meadows: The Archaeology of Norse America'), Carolyne Larrington (Oxford, 'Wonder and Vínland), Diana Whaley (Newcastle, 'Vínland Verses: On the Reading of Skaldic Poetry'), Gísli Sigurðsson (Reykjavík, 'The Vínland Sagas: Literary Texts as Reflections of Social Memory about Historical Events'), and Judith Jesch (Nottingham, 'The "Steed of the Waves" and Vínland Vikings'). There was a bookstall selling new and secondhand publications.


In 2002, the Society's website was redesigned by Jayne Carroll and relocated at Sheffield with a new address:

Recent Publications

Full details of all of the Society's publications as well as publications distributed by the Society are available on the website:

Prizes and Awards

Prizes have been awarded as follows:

The Townsend Viking Society Prize: Susanna Griffith (UCL)
The Margaret Orme Prize: C. Lorenz (University of Durham) and T. Roll (University of Essex).

Nominations are invited for the Margaret Orme Prize by 1 August. For further details, see

Other News

All members of the Society are welcome at the Second Fell-Benedikz Lecture, to be given by Roberta Frank at the University of Nottingham on 22 May 2003 (follow link for details).

News-sheet prepared by Judith Jesch, April 2003