News and events archive 2004 - 2013


New Years Honours 2011

Emeritus Professor Tudor Bowden Jones, who is among the University of Leicester recipients of a New Years Honour.

New Year's Honours 2011

Members of the University community have been recognised in the Queen’s New Year's Honours list

Emeritus Professor Tudor Bowden Jones, from the Department of Physics and Astronomy, has received a MBE for services to science. Professor Jones was Head of the Physics and Astronomy Department 1993-98 when the University received the Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education for its work in Physics and Astronomy.

Bill Bolsover who was awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws Degree by the University in 2009 has been made a CBE for services to the construction industry.

University benefactor Dr. David Wilson has been appointed CBE for his services to young people. He was presented with an honorary Doctor of Laws in 2004.

Richard Everard, awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws in 2009 by the University, has been appointed OBE for services to the community.


- Interviewees needed for reception study of Holocaust films

- Learning from the Secret Past - Cases in British Intelligence History

- Leicester Alumnus Thriller Writer Signs Deal With US Publisher

- IRIS launch event for the Colleges of Arts, Humanities & Law and Social Science

- Participants need for online study about the need for cognitive closure

[University Home]. [eBulletin]. [University Index A-Z]. [University Search]. [University Help]
Managed by Press Office
[Copyright] and [Disclaimer]