News and events archive 2004 - 2013


Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Honorary Fellowships Announced by University of Leicester

Attenborough brothers to be honoured by Leicester

Lord Attenborough and Sir David Attenborough are to be awarded the title of Distinguished Honorary Fellow at degree congregations in July at the University of Leicester.

They are among a number of distinguished people receiving accolades from the University for distinctive contributions and achievements within their respective fields.

Follow the link for a Picture Gallery of the people receiving awards.

The award of Distinguished Honorary Fellow is an accolade from the University in recognition of a record of continuing distinguished service to the University. It can be held by a maximum of 24 people at any one time.

A total of 11 people will also receive honorary degrees from the University at ceremonies to be held in De Montfort Hall from 11 July -14 July.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Robert Burgess said:

"As we celebrate the success of our students, we are always delighted to award honorary degrees to people whose contribution to their local communities, society and the world at large is indisputable.

“Many of our honorary graduands have special connections with the University, the City or the County, and all are highly distinguished people and an inspiration to our students. It gives us special pleasure this year to award Distinguished Honorary Fellowships to Lord Attenborough and Sir David Attenborough who have given such inestimable service to the University over so many years.

“This has been a very special year for the University- we were ranked joint first for student satisfaction in the National Student Survey amongst institutions with full-time provision and we have broken into the top 20 of the Times Good University Guide for the first time.

“These are tremendous successes at a time that Leicester is investing heavily for the future- our £300m Development Plan has seen new state-of-the-art facilities come on stream providing new opportunities for advances in research and teaching excellence.

“It is appropriate that graduation, a time of celebration of individual achievement and merit, provides an occasion for the University to mark its collective achievement alongside personalities who have contributed so significantly to society.”

University of Leicester Awards:

  • All ceremonies marked am start at 11am and all ceremonies marked pm start at 3pm
  • All ceremonies held at De Montfort Hall, Leicester

Distinguished Honorary Fellows:

Lord Attenborough -13th July (pm)

Sir David Attenborough -13th July (pm)


Ms Patricia Barker – Doctor of Letters -11th July (pm), Novelist

Mr Norman Rosenthal –Doctor of Letters - 11th July (pm), Leicester graduate. Exhibitions Secretary, Royal Academy of Arts

Professor Richard Holmes – Doctor of Letters - 12th July (am), Professor of Military and Security Studies, Cranfield University

Sir Mike Tomlinson- Doctor of Laws - 12th July (am), Former HM Chief Inspector of Schools; Chairman of Hackney Education Trust

Ms Marina Warner- Doctor of Letters -12th July (pm), Writer and Critic

Mr John Bloor –Doctor of Laws - 13th July (am), Owner of Bloor Holdings, leading Midlands housebuilder with numerous subsidiary interests, including Triumph

Professor Martin Taylor –Doctor of Science- 13th July (am), Professor of Pure Mathematics, University of Manchester

Professor Dame Carol Black –Doctor of Science-14th July (am), President, Royal College of Physicians; Professor of Rheumatology,UCL

Professor Sir George Radda –Doctor of Science-14th July (am), Former Chief Executive of the Medical Research Council

The Rt Hon The Baroness Amos – Doctor of Laws- 14th July (pm), Leader of the House of Lords since 2003

Professor Laurie Taylor –Doctor of Letters- 14th July (pm), Leicester graduate. Former Professor of Sociology at York. THES columnist.

[University Home]. [eBulletin]. [University Index A-Z]. [University Search]. [University Help]
Managed by Press Office
[Copyright] and [Disclaimer]