Association for Radiation Research
Home page
Clinical Oncology
Honorary members
IJRB Special Offer
Meeting minutes
Meeting Sponsorship
Past Meetings
Rad Links
Travel Bursaries
Weiss Medal

For feedback: Jon Naylor(Webmaster)
This page is © copyright Association for Radiation Research 2003.
Not for profit registered Charity No. 253999.
Last update: Nov 2015

This site is hosted by the University of Leicester, CSMM Department


ARR Travel Bursaries

General Information

Two of the main objectives of the ARR are to promote learning and advance education in the field of radiation research and to extend, increase and disseminate knowledge of radiation research in the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, medicine and other related disciplines.

To achieve these goals we would like to announce a new travel bursary scheme targeted at non-student members with at least one year’s standing that will be awarded on a competitive basis.

These awards complement the schemes the ARR already offers in conjunction with the annual meeting of the association (Early Career Investigator Awards) and with the International Congress of Radiation Research (Travel awards for both Early Career and established ARR investigators).

There will be two application deadlines for these awards each year. These will fall on the  31st May and 30th November. Applicants will be notified of outcome within 1 month. The date of the meeting to be attended must be at least one month following the application deadline. Retrospective applications will not be funded as we will request acknowledgement of the Travel Bursary received from the ARR in the recipient’s presentation.  

All applicants must be actively participating in the meeting through oral or poster presentation. We will not consider applications simply to attend meetings.

Criteria applied in assessing the applications include:

  • The quality and relevance of the selected meeting to radiation research.
  • Scientific quality of the research to be presented.
  • The curriculum vitae of the applicant.
  • The letter of support from a professional referee.
  • The evidence of how the full budget for attending the meeting will be met.

The maximum award that can be requested from the ARR will be 500.

Application process


Available to non-student members of at least one year’s standing at time of application. Applicants will be expected to present their work at the meeting applied for and should submit copies of the abstract with their application. The Association for Radiation Research should be appropriately acknowledged in any poster or presentation. Members may only apply for a second award at least 2 years following the initial award.


Up to a maximum of 500. Bursaries will contribute to the covering of travel costs (economy fares), registration fees and cost of accommodation. The total sum requested should be stated in the application. Applicants should provide evidence of how costs beyond that which can be claimed from the ARR will be met. Upon successful application, the ARR will request receipts for the expenses claimed via the ARR as proof of purchase.


31st May and 30th November each year.

To apply for this award, applicants should provide:

  • Details of the meeting including a copy of submitted abstract and evidence of participation (if an abstract has not been accepted for presentation by the bursary deadline, please indicate this and notify the ARR as soon as acceptance is received).
  • Where the applicant is an invited speaker, evidence that costs will not be met by the meeting organisers
  • A short curriculum vitae
  • A signed letter of support from a professional referee
  • A budget for travel and accommodation
  • Evidence of other funding sought/obtained

These documents should be sent to the ARR secretary by email:

Applicants will be notified of outcome within 1 month.

Successful recipients must acknowledge the receipt of the ARR Travel Award in the presentation they make and following the meeting provide a short written report that may be used on the Association’s website.




Iosifina Foskolou
Keystone symposium British Columbia

Sara Ahrabi
ICRR Report 2015 Kyoto

Dr Manal Mehibel
ISCAaM Venice 2015

Abdelrazek Abdelrazzak
RRS meeting in Las Vegas 2014