ARR Logo
Association for Radiation Research
Home page
Clinical Oncology
Collaboration Bursaries
Honorary members
IJRB Special Offer
Meeting minutes
Meeting Sponsorship
Past Meetings
Travel Bursaries
Weiss Medal
Picture of Weiss Medal

Privacy Policy

For feedback: Jon Naylor (Webmaster)
This page is © copyright Association for Radiation Research 2003.
Not for profit registered Charity No. 253999.
Last update:Oct 2021

This site is hosted by the University of Leicester, CSMM Department



Abstract submission deadline is 15th April and students/research fellows have the opportunity to apply for travel bursaries. Registration now open.  



2019 Meeting

The Association for Radiation Research was delighted to host the 16th International Congress of Radiation Research (ICRR) in Manchester, UK, 25th-29th August 2019. The ICRR is held once every four years on behalf of the International Association of Radiation Research (IARR). The meeting provides a broad platform for presentation of cutting–edge radiation research - from ecology and environmental effects through to applications in healthcare. The programme was split into 4 themes - basic mechanisms, translational research, radiotherapy and health effects and ecology. It was specifically designed to engage researchers across all disciplines and to facilitate the development of multidisciplinary collaboration and interaction. We complemented parallel sessions across these core themes with workshops, teaching and industrially sponsored sessions, with an aim of providing something for everyone. Our scientific organising committee was drawn from around the globe, and we endeavoured to ensure appropriately balanced international and gender representation across all aspects of the programme. We were delighted that we were able to attract world leaders to share their insights in across all areas of our programme. Our trail blazing plenary speakers, Rob Bristow, Fei-Fei Lui, Charlie Limoli, Nori Nakamura and Amato Giaccia led the way, with our 1000 delegates often spoilt for choice as to which session to attend. We wanted to ensure our young scientists were given opportunities to undertake formal roles within the programme and to this end sessions were co-chaired by a senior researcher and a scientist in training. Awards were presented to Dudley Goodhead (IARR Henry S Kaplan Distinguished Scientist Award), Eleanor Blakely (ICRU Twentieth Gray Medal); Penny Jeggo (ARR Weiss Medal) and Markus Löbrich (ERRS Bacq and Alexander Award). In addition to our about 100 invited speakers, we also showcased approximately 150 proffered papers submitted from around the globe and had over 400 poster presentations. Presenters were drawn from over 40 countries, and we were delighted to welcome delegates from Africa, South America, the West Indies, Middle East and Asia. Affirming the commitment of the ARR to Scientists in Training (SITs), the ARR awarded 31 travel bursaries for ICRR, of which 27 were to SITs. In addition to our excellent scientific programme, we built a social programme around enabling our delegates to gain greater insights into many aspects of Manchester’s cultural heritage, from guided walking tours, to evenings at MOSI, our iconic museum of science and industry and our conference dinner at the Principal Hotel “a refuge in the capital of cool”. We would like to extend a warm thanks to all those who participated in the meeting- from sponsors and delegates to plenary speakers and organisers- your support was very much appreciated and all contributed to a highly successful meeting.


After careful consideration it has been decided to postpone the 2020 ARR meeting to next year.
See you in Leeds in 2021!

New collaboration scheme launched: Did you know the ARR will pay for you to go and visit another lab?
More information

ARR travel bursary - Deadline for applications is 31st May and 30th November each year. Travel bursaries (up to £ 500) are available from the ARR to attend a radiation focused meeting. Follow the link to find out how to apply:

Clinical Oncology Online

New Scheme Launched!!

ARR Travel Bursaries

click on link opposite to access information

New Scheme Launched!!

ARR Meeting Sponsorship

click on link opposite to access information


We now have a LinkedIn group with over 40 members. Please search for Association for Radiation Research and request to join to keep in touch with your colleagues


Click here


Click here for News Archive